top of page


A brief history of the society


1950:                     In October The Berrima District Art Society (BDAS) was founded by

                               Kate Smith and a committee of interested members of the general public.

1951 - 1963:         The first meetings were held in the CWA Rooms at Moss Vale.

1963 - 1969:         A room was then rented in Berrima Court House, Berrima.

1970:                     Through the generosity of Edgar Bent, the Society acquired the

                               cottage in Short Street, Bowral, which is still its permanent home.

1993:                     Gill Graham successfully applied for grants and a new workshop was built                                     with the assistance of Commonwealth, State and local funding and designed                                 by Colin Graham and erected by Ross Meredith.  

2006:                     The BDAS members voted to change the name to the Bowral & District

                               Art Society.

2010:                     A Sculpture Garden was developed.

2011:                     The workshop was extended and renovated to provide an excellent facility

                               for both adults and children.

2016:                     The name was changed to secure the Bowral Art Gallery integrity.

2017:                     The Bowral Art Gallery continues to live up to it's Mission Statement and the                                 vital role it affords for Art in the Southern Highlands.  The studios have                                           continued to flourish and provide ongoing opportunities for tutors, artists                                     and art lovers alike.


Classes and Workshops for Adults and Children

Watercolour, Acrylics, Oils, Printmaking, Pastel and Life Drawing

Special weekend and holiday workshops available

sculpture garden copy.jpg


PRESIDENT:              John Brain

VICE PRESIDENT:     Marika Schmidhofer

TREASURER:             Margie Beaumont

SECRETARY:              Helen Johnston



Eril Becher                  Cath Brennan


Tony Deigan               Sandra Hiscock

Missy Jacobs               Lou Watts                    


Gilda Wilson                Barbara Young

IMG_6381 2.jpeg
bottom of page